SMU Maura Awards Dinner

It was such a pleasure to attend the Maura Awards Dinner this evening. Started in 1978 by the Women’s Center of Dallas, and now hosted by SMU, the award pays tribute to those who have made significant contributions to improving the lives of women and girls in Dallas. Proceeds benefit the Gender Parity Initiative in the SMU School of Engineering.

This year’s honorees included Michele Bobadilla, Kathy LaTour, Karen Shuford, Ruth Thomas, and Linda Pitts Custard, whom I am proud to call a campaign supporter. Linda has been a remarkable force behind so many important projects in Dallas, particularly the Dallas Center for the Performing Arts. This award is well-deserved!

I was also in good company at my table, sitting with past recipients such as Rita Cox, Lois Finkelman, Dr. Sheron Patterson, Becky Sykes, and my host, Patricia Meadows. Thanks, ladies, for a wonderful evening!